Monday Morning Poem: A Child in the Garden

by Henry Van Dyke

When to the garden of untroubled thought
I came of late, and saw the open door,
And wished again to enter, and explore
The sweet, wild ways with stainless bloom in wrought,

Young Girl at a Garden Gate, by Mildred Butler

Young Girl at a Garden Gate, by Mildred Butler

And bowers of innocence with beauty fraught,
It seemed some purer voice must speak before
I dared to tread that garden loved of yore,
That Eden lost unknown and found unsought.

Then just within the gate I saw a child, —
A stranger-child, yet to my heart most dear;
He held his hands to me, and softly smiled
With eyes that knew no shade of sin or fear:
“Come in,” he said, “and play awhile with me;”
“I am the little child you used to be.”

3 thoughts on “Monday Morning Poem: A Child in the Garden

  1. Holly says:

    Very beautiful, Linda, and I wonder just what the child I used to be would think of me! Probably better off not knowing, thank you for giving me this poignant reminder of what’s important in life.

Leave a Reply

