It’s a Mystery: The Brass Verdict, by Michael Connelly

5.0 out of 5 stars Mickey, Harry, and Jack

Only a few of my favorite authors produce stories in which their series characters intermingle. One of my favorites was the Church of England series by Susan Howatch (as far from stodgy as it’s possible to get), and now, with The Brass Verdict, Michael Connelly promises to do the same with a skillful interweaving of characters from earlier novels. This is not an easy task, but Connelly is more than up to it. Mickey Haller is back, following his introductory outing in The Lincoln Lawyer. He was pretty brash and arrogant at first, but after a year in rehab, with time to contemplate his victories and losses, Mickey has grown, psychologically. He’s still a razor sharp defense attorney, but now he’s a defense attorney with scruples, and he’s begun to realize what’s important in life. Now he takes issue with anyone who tries to bamboozle him. Into the mix add Harry Bosch, the sharpest detective on the LA force, Jack McEvoy, investigative reporter, and the always jumping LA setting, and you’ve got a foolproof recipe for first rate American crime fiction. The Brass Verdict, edgy and topical, full of surprises, does not disappoint.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Mystery: The Brass Verdict, by Michael Connelly

  1. Ooops! I think I navigated away without submitting my comment. I will definitely read this one as I haven’t felt inclined to read Connelly for some time.

    P.S. Is it snowing on my computer? Cool!

  2. I really enjoyed The Brass Verdict – and I appreciated your reference to Susan Howatch. It’s been years since I read any of her work and, to be honest, had forgotten about her. Your mention reminded me of what a great writer she is!

Leave a Reply

