Songs That Get Stuck in Your Head

Does this ever happen to you? C’mon, of course it does. Last night, trying to get to sleep, and round and round in my head, I kept hearing, “All the leaves are brown, and the skies are gray, I been for a walk, on a winter’s dayyyyyy.” In waking life, I don’t think I’ve heard that song in years. And I don’t know where it came from last night, but there it was, keeping me awake for at least a couple of hours. On other nights, I’ve treated myself to a silent rendition of one of the Beatles’ more obscure tunes, Till There Was You. Didn’t like it then, and like it even less now. “There were bells on the hill, but I never heard them ringing, no I never heard them at all, till there was you”, in Paul’s voice. Then there’s whatever song is being used in current TV commercials.

Yeah, I know, it could be worse. Actually, it could be a lot worse. Like experiencing chronic nightmares, or not being able to sleep at all, or worrying about something awful, like health problems or something. And I don’t have to work today, , so I didn’t have to haul myself out of bed at dawn’s early light.

Oh, almost forgot, “This is the song that never ends….”

What golden oldies keep you awake at night?

2 thoughts on “Songs That Get Stuck in Your Head

  1. lucienlachance says:

    You know that song, “Golden Years”? Yeah, get that stuck in my head all the time. David Bowie singing all high-pitched “GOOOOOOLLLLDEN YEEEEEARS!! Goooold…” I like that song, but geez, does it have to play in my head all of the time? I have had “California Dreamin'” stuck in my head before too. Usually what happens is it’s completely random in the morning. I’ll wake up and some part of a song will pop into my head, even if I haven’t heard the song since I was a kid…. Strange, really strange. And the same part plays OVER AND OVER, that’s the terrible part (haha, sometimes I speculate it’s because I’ve forgotten the rest of the song…).

Leave a Reply

