Historical Fiction: Figures in Silk, by Vanora Bennet

4.0 out of 5 stars Power struggles

“The more things change, the more they stay the same.” Figures in Silk, a book about surviving life in London during the reigns of Edward IV and Richard III, certainly validates the old saying. Sisters Isabel and Jane experience first hand the effects of political turmoil, one from the outside, and the other from the inside, of court life. Both girls are unwillingly married at a young age, but neither marriage survives. One sister goes into the silk trade with her dynamic mother in law, and the other becomes mistress to the king. The plot is fairly standard issue for historical fiction with womjen protagonists, but its emphasis on political infighting, intrigue, and machinations, is its driving force. The author’s treatment of Richard III is balanced, and major and supporting characters alike are well developed. Three dramatic but credible surprises make for a satisfying conclusion and an enjoyable reading adventure.

2 thoughts on “Historical Fiction: Figures in Silk, by Vanora Bennet

  1. Vanora Bennet is one of my favorite historical fiction writers! I am just about ready to finish a review of her new book! My test of a “good read” is feeling bummed when I finish a book – because I want more. That’s precisely how I feel with everyone one of Ms. Bennett’s books!

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed this one. I just could not get into it–it was probably my mood. I’ll still try another Bennett in the future, though.

Leave a Reply

