Historical Fiction: The Winthrop Woman, by Anya Seton

5.0 out of 5 stars

When I first signed on as an interpreter at Nathan Hale Homestead in CT, the curator offered to lend me her favorite book, The Winthrop Woman, to provide some reliable background information. I opened it to the first page and was immediately transported to the 17th century world of Puritan father John Winthrop and his strong minded, independent niece, Elizabeth. Since that moment 20 years ago, I’ve read widely in the field of American history, both fiction and nonfiction. Winthrop Woman is one of the few books I’ve returned to again and again, for its portrayal of this little known but highly courageous woman, her times, and the times of America’s very beginnings. Writing, plotting, biographical treatment, characterization, and historical accuracy in this novel are superb. This is “time travel” at its best, the real thing. While some of Seton’s novels have become a bit dated, this is her masterpiece, and it’s stood the test of time.

One thought on “Historical Fiction: The Winthrop Woman, by Anya Seton

  1. Linda Sheehan says:

    I agree; this is a fantastic book. It stands the test of time. I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never been to the NH Homestead & I’ve lived in CT all my life. FOr shame! Maybe this fall? Linda/Orange

Leave a Reply

