2009 Themed Reading Challenge


I don’t participate in many reading challenges because I tend to be a “mood reader”, picking titles from what topic strikes my fancy at the time. But the rules of this challenge, sponsored by Caribou’s Mom [  Themed Reading Challenge ], work for me.

This is a six month challenge designed to help readers clear books from their to-be-read stacks which center around a common theme or themes. It will run from Feb. 1 to July 31, 2009, and sign ups end March 30.

I’ve decided that my theme will be Fiction/Nonfiction set in Europe, and the option I’m doing is read at least 5 books with two shared themes.  I have a wealth of intriguing titles select from. I’ll be posting my choices as I set them:

Shakespeare’s Wife, by Germaine Greer (nonfiction)

The Alchemist’s Daughter, by Katherine, McMahon (fiction)


***********************************************************************************************************

The Book of Unholy Mischief, by Elle Newmark    The Last Van Gogh, by Alyson Richmond (fiction)

(fiction)

Agnes Grey, by Ann Bronte

(fiction)

6 thoughts on “2009 Themed Reading Challenge

  1. What a great idea! I think I’ll propose it to my book club as we select our readings for 2009.

  2. Glad you’ll be participating in the challenge! Looks like fun themes :)

  3. Excellent choices!

    I’ve noticed you like reading challenges – I’m hosting The Art History Reading Challenge. Check it out at http://www.arthistoryreadingchallenge.blogspot.com. Thanks!

  4. Great list of books! I finally got around to organizing my themes (here.)

  5. [...] (Theme: Women’s names / classics)3. Shelly (Write for a Reader)4. Amy(The Sleepy Reader)5. Linda6. Nely7. Lindy8. Katrina (Either Contemporary Classics or Move ’em Along)9. LizzySiddal10. [...]

Leave a Reply

